Michael A. Colbach - Over $26 million in verdicts and settlements in just the last nine years.
A. Most people do not know this, but if you are a pedestrian struck by a vehicle, your Oregon auto insurance policy provides you coverage. Your Oregon auto policy provides medical coverage if you are in your car, on a bike, or a pedestrian. Oregon personal injury protection (PIP) provides a minimum of $15,000 in medical coverage, as well as up to 52 weeks of wage loss.
A. If you do not have Oregon auto insurance, then your healthcare insurance pays your medical bills. If you do not have Oregon auto insurance or healthcare insurance, than the other driver's PIP should provide coverage.
A. Oregon PIP coverage is no-fault medical coverage. Even if the accident was your fault, they still have to pay.
A. That depends. In Oregon, there is an implied crosswalk at every corner with a stop sign. What this means is that even though there may not be a painted crosswalk, if there is a stop sign, the law probably considers there to be an implied crosswalk at the corner.
A. Oregon law considers cyclists to be pedestrians if they are crossing in a crosswalk. You are still required to obey all of the pedestrian laws, but as long as you are not going faster than a pedestrian, you are considered a pedestrian and can cross in a crosswalk.