Over $55 million in verdicts and settlements in 17 years.
If you have been injured in a car, bicycle, motorcycle or auto accident you need to take the following steps to preserve your claim.
1) Seek immediate medical attention
2) Report the accident to the police and the DMV
This is the link for the Orgon ODOT form to report your auto accident either download or use it online:
If you are involved in an accident in Oregon, You must file an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report with DMV within 72 hours when: Damage to any vehicle is over $2,500 (even if your vehicle was the only one in the crash); Any vehicle is towed from the scene; Injury or death resulted from this accident; or Damages to anyone's property other than a vehicle involved in this accident is more than $2,500. If you do not file a report when required, Oregon law requires DMV to issue a suspension notice. If you were in an accident and the damages were less than $2,500, you can report to DMV if the other party doesn't have insurance. Be sure to clearly note on the accident report that it doesn't meet mandatory reporting criteria. Note: A police report does not count as filing an accident report with DMV. You must also file an accident report with DMV.
This DMV page has good general information on the laws for Oregon auto accidents and is where they will have the most current up to date requirements and contact information for you with a good list of the Oregon DMV responsibilities and help if you are involved in an accident are also available.
3) Gather the other driver’s contact and insurance information.
4) Get the names and contact information for any witnesses
5) DO NOT GIVE A RECORDED STATEMENT TO THE OTHER DRIVER’S INSURANCE COMPANY UNTIL YOU HAVE CONSULTED WITH AN EXPERIENCED OREGON CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEY.
6) Contact your insurance company and make a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) claim.
All Oregon auto insurance policies have no fault PIP coverage for your medical expenses.
You need to contact your insurance company ASAP to make sure then start paying your medical bills right away.
If you incur lost wages as a result of your injuries, your PIP insurance may also pay a portion of your lost wages.
7) Document your lost wages and any other expenses you incur.